Noongar Aboriginal Seasons

The six seasons are signaled by: the night sky; the weather – dry and hot, hottest, cooler, coldest and wettest, wet days and clear nights, longer dry periods; quality and length of daylight; landscape – parched, recovering, green; animal stages – adults nesting and protecting,  newborns and young;  plant stages – flowering, ripening, mature fruits and roots. In response, Noongar people changed location between the ‘coast, estuaries, rivers’, ‘lakes and swamps’ and ‘inland’; changed the predominant foods in their diet – fish or kangaroo for protein, roots and seeds (particularly zamia) for carbohydrate; instituted protection – huts and cloaks in the cold and wet, plant based sunscreen and insect repellent; and instituted a fire regime.

quilt 7

2 thoughts on “Noongar Aboriginal Seasons

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s